HND Computing

The new RQF (Regulated Qualifications Framework) BTEC Higher National qualification in Computing is designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Level 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or to progression to a degree at Level 6. The impact of computers on every aspect of our lives has expanded dramatically over recent years, particularly with the growth of the internet, UK is a proven world-class innovator in this field. Computers are now used virtually within every business, industry and organisation. The telecommunications and IT sector presents a stimulating and challenging working environment, with its array of existing and constantly evolving technologies.
Pearson’s BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing offers the opportunity to specialize within the scope of the specialist units available. They are designed to provide a springboard to the second year of a related university honors degree programme, or for those already working in the sector – to progression within the workplace.

Course Structure

HND is offered as a full time course of 2 Years duration comprising of Four Semesters. Regular classes are offered four days per week having 3 hours lecturing each day. Students may opt for Morning / Evening Session **.

Mandatory (12 Core Units)

Unit Name
Professional Practice
Database Design & Development
Managing a Successful Com. Project (Pearson-set)
Computer Systems Architecture
Website Design & Development
Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
Business Intelligence
Systems Analysis & Design
Database Management System


Students may choose any one of the following seven specialization areas. Specialist pathways will be included within brackets in the qualification title:

  • HND in Computing
  • HND in Computing (Network Engineering)
  • HND in Computing (Software Engineering)
  • HND in Computing (Data Analytics)
  • HND in Computing (Security)
  • HND in Computing (Intelligent Systems)
  • HND in Computing (Applications Development)


Unit Name
E-Commerce & Strategy
Advanced Programming
Internet of Things

Network Engineering

Unit Name
Transport Network Design
Cloud Computing
Network Security

Software Engineering

Unit Name
Discrete Maths
Data Structures & Algorithms
Advanced Programming

Data Analytics

Unit Name
Discrete Maths
Data Mining
Applied Analytical Models


Unit Name
Information Security Management

Intelligent Systems

Unit Name
Machine Learning
Artificial Intelligence
Data Structures & Algorithms

Application Development

Unit Name
Application Program Interfaces
Application Development

Assessment Methodology

A variety of assessment methods, including presentations, problem solving tasks, case studies, assignments, time constrained assessments & work-based projects are used to assess learners. All students are expected to participate in practical activities.