Pearson BTEC Level 5 HND Computing

The new RQF (Regulated Qualifications Framework) BTEC Higher National qualification in Computing is designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Level 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or to progression to a degree at Level 6. The impact of computers on every aspect of our lives has expanded dramatically over recent years, particularly with the growth of the internet, UK is a proven world-class innovator in this field. Computers are now used virtually within every business, industry and organization. The telecommunications and IT sector presents a stimulating and challenging working environment, with its array of existing and constantly evolving technologies.

Pearson’s BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing offers the opportunity to specialize within the scope of the specialist units available. They are designed to provide a springboard to the second year of a related university honors degree programme, or for those already working in the sector – to progression within the workplace.

Course structure

HND is offered as a full time course of 2 Years duration comprising of Four Semesters. Regular classes are offered four days per week having 3 hours lecturing each day. Students may opt for Morning / Evening Session **.


  • All 12 Units must be taken.
  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Professional Practice
  • Database Design & Development
  • Security
  • Managing a Successful Com. Project (Pearson-set)
  • Computer Systems Architecture
  • Website Design & Development
  • Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
  • Business Intelligence Systems Analysis & Design
  • Database Management System


Students may choose any one of the following seven specialization areas. Specialist pathways will be included within brackets in the qualification title:


  • HND in Computing
  • HND in Computing (Network Engineering)
  • HND in Computing (Software Engineering)
  • HND in Computing (Data Analytics)
  • HND in Computing (Security)
  • HND in Computing (Intelligent Systems)
  • HND in Computing (Applications Development)


  • E-Commerce & Strategy
  • Advanced Programming
  • Internet of Things


Network Engineering

  • Transport Network Design
  • Cloud Computing
  • Network Security

Software Engineering

  • Discrete Maths
  • Data Structures & Algorithms
  • Advanced Programming


Data Analytics

  • Discrete Maths
  • Data Mining
  • Applied Analytical Models



  • Cryptography
  • Forensics
  • Information Security Management


Intelligent Systems

  • Machine Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Data Structures & Algorithms


Application Development

  • Prototyping
  • Application Program Interfaces
  • Application Development


Assessment Methodology

A variety of assessment methods, including presentations, problem solving tasks, case studies, assignments, time constrained assessments & work-based projects are used to assess learners. All students are expected to participate in practical activities.